Starcraft Battle Chest!

It appears that while I was happily playing Age of Empires there for several years, that Blizzard Entertainment released an RTS entitled Starcraft (something or other) and that it just happened to become one of the most critically acclaimed real time strategy games, never mind one of the greatest PC games, of all time. It’s definitely been awhile since I’ve sat down to enjoy a good RTS game and I figured that it was high time that I checked out what all the hub-bub was about where Starcraft was concerned — especially after seeing how impressive its sequel, Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty looks to be.

So, I jumped on over to Amazon to see what they were offering the original Starcraft for and stumbled upon Starcraft Battle Chest which contains:

  • The original StarCraft
  • StarCraft: Brood War (official expansion pack)
  • Official strategy guides to both games

The original sale price is already a fairly impressive $19.99 (I come from an era when NES cartridges cost $60+ so I impress easily perhaps) but this week Amazon has Starcraft Battle Chest marked down to $9.99. I couldn’t resist that, so I threw it in my checkout cart and went to complete my transaction…where I was reminded that I had a $10 game credit to apply from a previous game and fortunately I’ve already got free shipping through Amazon Prime Student. So, yea, owning a couple of great games for free was certainly a nice surprise this afternoon. If you don’t own these already (and honestly, I’m probably one of the few that didn’t) you may want to consider picking it up this week at the heavily discounted price.

One Response

  1. This is such a beautiful game. I love using cheats to play this game. The graphics in this game are really good.

Leave a Reply

