Q4 2010: What I’m Picking Up…

There’s a lot to look forward to in the coming weeks and months. As always, Fall and Winter seasons are jam packed with dozen(s) of releases and while I can only manage to snag a couple of these games at launch this year, here’s what I’m looking forward to picking up:

Epic Mickey (Wii) – I love classic Disney and am grateful to have bookshelves lined with classic comics featuring Carl Barks’ Duck tales, Floyd Gottfredson’s Mickey Mouse adventures, and video collections chronicling Disney’s pioneering animation from the 1930’s to present. I treasure these, and while I’m always a little hesitant to hear of a Disney game release (given their hit-and-miss natures) it didn’t take long for Warren Spector’s Epic Mickey to win me over. It definitely didn’t hurt to find out that Spector is a huge fan of Disney’s classic source material and that he was a huge Floyd  Gottfredson fan, as is evident in his interviews. Knowing as much immediately let me know that he’d have a firm grasp on Disney’s flagship hero (given that Gottfredson really refined Mickey’s appeal as a character) and that I’ll likely appreciate the direction that the game takes. And…Oswald! Thus far I’ve been fascinated by most all the info. that’s been garnered and previews that we’ve seen and am awful excited to see what Spector and Disney Interactive Studios pull off here in the end. Look for it on November 30th.

Kirby’s Epic Yarn (Wii) – I don’t know anyone that’s spent any time with a Kirby game that doesn’t love the “super tough creme puff’ already, but after seeing what they had cooked up for Kirby in his newest (and long anticipated) adventure I was sold on the…ahem…yarn that they were creating. Kirby games have innovated from the beginning (starting on the surface with his ability to “copy” his foes abilities) and it appears that Kirby’s Epic Yarn looks to not only continue the trend, but blow it out of the water by placing him in a world made of yarn and various textures, adding multi-player components and retaining (and amping up) that “fun factor” that the series is so well known for.  Another plus in the games favor is that my wife enjoys playing Kirby games so this may be something we’ll be able to play together and I always look forward to that. Look for it on October 17th.

Believe it or not, these are the only two titles I plan to pick up at, or right around launch. Not that I don’t want to purchase a dozen more,  but my entertainment funds are a little more limited these days now that I’ve started a family. That said,  in the months to follow I do plan on looking seriously into the following titles as well:

  • Castlevania: Lords of Shadow (Konami; available on the PS3 & Xbox 360 on October 5th)
  • Costume Quest (Double Fine Productions; available on PSN and Xbox Live in October)
  • Final Fantasy: Heroes of Light (Square-Enix; available on the Nintendo DS October 5th)
  • The Sly Collection (Sony; available on the PS3 November 16th)
  • Vanquish (Sega; available on the PS3 & Xbox 360 on October 19th)

What’s more, it appears Q1 and Q2 2011 aren’t going to let up in the least. What’s your forecast for the coming months, what games are you looking forward to most?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

