First & Third-Person Shooters: Priorities

Crysis 2 Concept Art

It strikes me that I haven’t talked much about 1st and 3rd-person shooters here at the blog as much as I would have liked and I wanted to take a moment to remedy that a little, particularly with a couple of games on the horizon that I’m really excited about. And while I’m definitely a much bigger RPG, SRPG, Platform and Adventure type of fan, I love games of all types and many of my favorite gaming memories have actually come about playing 1st and 3rd-person shooters with family and friends.

My first real foray into the shooter genre was GoldenEye 007 for the N64, which was just about the best introduction I could have wished for. I was in my early twenties and me and a bunch of my buddies would get together what seemed like every other weekend at a friends pad to play (much to the chagrin of wives and girlfriends). I don’t recall who exactly owned the game, but between the campaign mode and multi-player maps we must have spent hundred(s) of hours unlocking upgrades/weapons and hunting each other down. I think the only reason we put it down at all was to play it’s successor 007: The World is Not Enough.

Well, life definitely got busier in the years that followed, and each of us wasn’t able to meet up nearly as often, but it appears my brother-in-law and I have successfully carried on the tradition of getting together as often as schedules will allow to play the latest and greatest shooters, from  Call of Duty to Perfect Dark and in-between. In that time I’ve found that I tend to appreciate the more tactical, strategic titles more than the run and gun, explode in your face games. They both have their place, but we’ve come back to games like Rainbow Six: Vegas (probably my favorite first-person shooter to date) much more than, say, the WWII Call of Duty titles (the Modern Warfare series is on the docket) or something like Gears of War. A great cover mechanic, with levels that emphasize stealth and precision within the cross hairs is more my speed and with that said, there are a couple of titles releasing this month that I’m champing at the bit to experience.

[+] The first is Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Future Soldier (PS3), which is a tactical shooter set in the Ghost Recon universe, this time utilizing futuristic high-tech gear and weaponry in squad based game play. The soldier you play is described as an “F-16 on legs,” so yea, this is going to be right up my alley and I’m really looking forward to the co-op. I love the 3rd person perspective that switches to 1st person as you aim, etc. and the cover to cover play in conjunction with the weapon options is going a long way in making this look as if it was a game tailored just for me. We’ll see of course, but this looks and sounds amazing from top to bottom.

[+] The second is EA’s Crysis 2 (PS3). Like most folks, my jaw dropped seeing the visuals of the original Crysis on the PC, but I don’t play a lot of games on my desktop with my run-of-the-mill set-up, and was pretty much out of luck until the sequel was announced as releasing cross console, and having heard about all the variation of the massive New York City maps, and the myriad of ways a player can tackle them with the Nanosuit’s capabilities (“It gives me options” as one of the trailers puts it). Too many things to say about what I’m looking forward to, but you get the gist.

[FYI -Anyone considering these titles may want to take a look at Amazon’s deals as both games come with a $10 promotional credit towards future merchandise at Amazon, and in the case of Crysis 2, the game has already been marked down 10% with free shipping and no taxes to speak of.]

Screenshot from Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

